Vegan/Vegetarian and diagnosed with Celiac Disease (CeD)*?

Eating a plant-based diet with CeD means your body has zero tolerance for gluten which is found in plant foods that are also rich in protein.  Wheat, rye, and barley are common in vegan and vegetarian diets but for optimal health a person with CeD must avoid them.

Combining Vegetarian, Vegan, and Gluten-Free DietsIf you are a vegetarian or vegan with CeD missing the key nutrients in these grains, means you must find other foods to meet your body’s needs. Download the free resource Combining Vegetarian, Vegan and Gluten-Free Diets (PDF) and discover the tools for combining a gluten-free diet with vegan or vegetarian food choices.

  • What foods supply Calcium and Vitamin D
  • Gluten-free Vegetarian foods high in Iron and Zinc
  • Hidden Sources of Gluten
  • How to increase your fiber intake

Find the tools you need when Combining Vegetarian, Vegan and Gluten-Free Diets (PDF), download it today!

*Celiac disease (CeD) is an autoimmune disease that should be diagnosed by a physician before eliminating gluten from your diet as that could cause a false test result.

4 Responses to “Vegan/Vegetarian and diagnosed with Celiac Disease (CeD)*?”

  1. Elizabeth Connelly

    I really want to become vegan but have Celiac disease and I am also anemic. At this point I want to have a smaller carbon footprint, but my family says I should not begin this lifestyle.


Debbie King MS RD LD

My passion for nutrition began when I took a college nutrition class. I have worked as a Clinical Dietitian, Director of Nutrition Services, and for several years as Mom. When my youngest left for college I decided to return to my passion of sharing the health benefits of eating vegetarian meals. I enjoy teaching nutrition, volunteering in my community, and working as the Web Editor for the Vegetarian Nutrition website.

More posts by Debbie King MS RD LD →

Visit Debbie's website